Goal setting

Hi guys,

In order for anybody to succeed in anything that we do, we need to set goals in life.

When it comes to weight loss and exercise, it is the same. You will not be successful at a program without goals.

Let’s talk about starting and sticking to an exercise program that will work for you.

Goals have to be reasonable and realistic; If you go to a one hour kickboxing class and expect to lose 5 pounds by the next day, you will be disappointed and you will probably not go back! It is important that you and your fitness professional (yes yours!) take the time to develop realistic, flexible and individualized SHORT-TERM GOALS using an easy method: SMART GOALS.

Image

So your goals should be:

SPECIFIC: What are going to do, when, where and with whom? 

So instead of thinking and saying ” I will go to the gym for a 2 hour workout” start thinking and saying “I will go to Virginie zumba class at Studio 4 u every Wednesday and Friday at 6:30 pm with my friend Paula”

Image

MEASURABLE: How are you going to know when you reach your goals?

So instead of thinking and saying “I will exercise at moderate intensity today” start thinking and saying “I will go for a walk with my dogs with my heart rate at 120 beats per minute for 2 miles” If you achieve distance and heart rate then you met your goals and you have tired doggies. (take you phone with you and download an app that trace heart rate and distance like nike running)

Image

ATTAINABLE: Can you really do this? Can you do it at this particular time of your journey? 

So instead of thinking and saying “I will do 100 push-ups without stopping on Saturday morning” start thinking and saying “I will do 25 push-ups on Friday and I will work myself up to it by doing 15 on Tuesday and 20 on Thursday”

Do not set yourself up for failure by not allowing yourself to be a novice at exercise!

Image

RELEVANT: Are your goals relevant to your needs, abilities and interests?

So instead of thinking and saying “I will train to run a 5 k under 15 minutes” start thinking and saying “I will increase the amount of physical activity I do by going to Virginie’s zumba class twice a week”

Image

TIME-BOUND: How soon, ho often and for how long?

So instead of thinking and saying “I will lose 15% of my body weight in order to improve my health” start thinking and saying “I will lose 15 pounds in the five months before my high school reunion”

Image

WRITE THEM DOWN, MAKE YOURSELF ACCOUNTABLE!!!

Happy goal setting!

Ciao for now!

Leave a Reply

